• JEF is a supranational, politically pluralist youth NGO with about 30,000 members in over 30 countries. The goal of JEF is the creation of a democratic European federation as a guarantee for peace and more free, just and democratic society.

Federal Committee

The Federal Committee (FC) meets twice a year and is responsible for formulating JEF resolutions policies. It is the main decision-making body between the European Congresses. The Federal Committee is mainly composed of one representative of each national section of JEF and 20 members elected directly by the Congress. This allows JEF to combine national representatives with directly elected European representatives united in one assembly (instead of 2 different chambers) - federalism in practice!

All FC members together are interacting with the Executive Bureau (EB) like a parliament interacts with a government and holds it accountable. Each of the 20 directly elected members of the FC is also responsible for one area of political or organisational activity being the (co-)chair of one of the Political Commissions or Task Forces respectively.

Mandate holders


The Presidium is the 'boss' of the FC and is actively overseeing and coordinating the activities in this body. The Presidium members are responsible for chairing the physical FC meetings and also coordinating and steering the work and activities of the Political Commissions and Task Forces in-between the FC meetings by providing input and distributing the tasks.

Ophélie Omnes
Ioan Bucuras
Chris Powers

National delegates

The national delegates are the representatives from the sections and they are responsible for bridging the European level with the national, regional and local levels by: transmitting information from JEF Europe to the sections & encouraging their own members to participate in the debates and other activities of JEF Europe.

Members directly elected from the Congress

These members are independent from sections and are responsible for making substantial contributions to the elaboration of political messages by submitting draft resolutions to the FC.


Afanasjeva, Sofia: sofia.afanasjeva@jef.eu

Aleksejeva, Aleksandra: aleksandra.aleksejeva@jef.eu

Cassar, Ben: ben.cassar@jef.eu

Devos-Chernova, Simon: simon.devos@jef.eu

Hertner, Annemarie: annemarie.hertner@jef.eu

Hoffmeister, Kalojan: kalojan.hoffmeister@jef.eu

Järviniemi, Juuso: juuso.jarviniemi@jef.eu

Laurila, Iida: lida.laurila@jef.eu

Moschetti, Riccardo: riccardo.moschetti@jef.eu

Nrecaj, Raimond: raimond.nrecaj@jef.eu

Sandu, Flavia-Gabriela: flavia.gabriela@jef.eu

Savall, Christelle: christelle.savall@jef.eu 

Soldal, Olav: olav.soldal@jef.eu

Sorrentino, Giorgia: giorgia.sorrentino@jef.eu

Soyka, Gerhard: gerhard.soyka@jef.eu

Tollenaers, Ine: ine.tollenaers@jef.eu


Executive Board members

EB members are also part of the FC since they are holding voting rights, except for the Secretary-General.


According to the official Rules of Procedure, Observers are JEF members who are present at statutory meetings but not in the capacity of delegates and thus without a voting right. They consist of, among others, representatives from candidate sections. Observers with important organisational duties can ask the Presidium to be incorporated in the Google Group of the FC email list.

Activity Report

40 years of JEF